AREA INFORMATION

Visitors to Meher Mount can select from a number of places to stay in the nearby towns of Ojai or Santa Paula, each about a 20-30 minute drive from Meher Mount in opposite directions.  The cities of Ventura and Santa Barbara are also options ranging from a 45-60 minute drive.

OJAI, CA

Ojai, California is a small resort town and artists’ haven nestled in the Ojai Valley with a population of about 8,000.  It is surrounded by mountains that run east to west, including the Topa Topa Bluffs, that give off a glow in the evening light known as “the pink moment.”

Early on Ojai established a reputation as being a center of physical and mental health.  It is well known for its mix of spiritual and meditation centers making it a draw for people of various spiritual backgrounds. 

Click here to see images of Ojai on Meher Mount's Pinterest page.

Ojai Visitors Bureau: www.ojaivisitors.com

Ojai Concierge: www.ojaiconcierge.com

Ojai Restaurants: www.ojairestaurants.com

Ojai Valley Chamber of Commerce: www.ojaichamber.org

City of Ojai: www.ci.ojai.ca.us

Ojai Valley News: www.ojaivalleynews.com

SANTA PAULA, CA

The City of Santa Paula is located in the Heritage Valley with the free-flowing Santa Clara River running through it.  With a population of nearly 30,000, Santa Paula is a mix of tourism, agriculture, and Main Street businesses.

The Santa Paula area was first settled by the Chumash tribe of Native Americans around 10,000 years ago.  Oil pioneers Wallace Hardison and Lyman Stewart moved to Santa Paula in 1886 and began California’s earliest oil production in nearby canyons. 

Click here to see images of Santa Paula on Meher Mount's Pinterest page.

 Discover Santa Paula: www.discoversantapaula.com

Santa Paula Chamber of Commerce: www.santapaulachamber.com

City of Santa Paula: www.ci.santa-paula.ca.us

Santa Paula Times: www.santapaulatimes.com

Heritage Valley Tourism Bureau: www.heritagevalley.net

SANTA BARBARA, CA

Sometimes called “The American Riviera,” Santa Barbara is located north and west of Meher Mount along the Pacific coast.  A city of approximately 200,000 people, Santa Barbara is served by Amtrak and Santa Barbara Airport.  It is home to one of California’s missions.

 Santa Barbara:  www.santabarbaraca.com

Santa Barbara Visitors Center: www.santabarbara.com

City of Santa Barbara: www.santabarabara.gov

Santa Barbara Chamber of Commerce: www.sbchamber.org

VENTURA, CA

Ventura is a gateway to The Channel Islands National Park with the Los Padres National Forest in the foothills.  It is located along California’s Central Coast south and west of Meher Mount.  It is home to one of California’s missions.  It is served by Amtrak.

 Ventura: www.ventura-usa.com

City of Ventura: www.cityofventura.net

Ventura Chamber of Commece: www.ventura-chamber.org

Photo:

A view of the Topa Topa Bluffs in the Los Padres National Forest from Meher Mount.  (Brad Spurr photo.)